Each year the Glebe House, one of the oldest in Connecticut is decked out to welcome all mannor of goblins and ghouls, witches, and spirits. This year, the house’s theme is The Estate of Panic! Enter the 275 – year old Glebe House -if you dare! The house has an intriguing history of hauntings. For this event, the Museum is professionally staged to create a unique experience and the themes are designed to be different each year to delight visitors again and again. Dare to walk through the frightful rooms of the Estate of Panic, filled with special effects and creepy things that are guaranteed to be hair-raising. Engage in a game of “Truth or Scare” and see if you can escape the haunted museum. The Estate of Panic will be open 5:30 – 9:30 pm on October 29.
A highlight of the evening is when Linda Barr-Gale will bring the “Witch of Woodbury”, Mol Cramer, to life in a special presentation in the Glebe Yard. Pull up a hay bale, bring a blanket, grab a chair and gather around the cauldron to hear her tale. This year Mol will be joined by her fellow witches who were put to trial in Colonial Connecticut. Presentations will take place at 5:30, 6:30, 7:30, and 8:30 pm. Seating is limited – Advance ticket purchase is recommended. Tickets are $11 per person, children 5-12 years old $6, and children under 5 years of age are free. See our website at http://www.glebehousemuseum.org for more information or by contacting the office at 203-263-2855 or by email at email@example.com.
About the Glebe House
The Glebe House, built about 1740 is a non-profit historic house museum and garden listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It was the home of John Rutgers Marshall, his wife, nine children and three slaves from 1771 to 1786 and is furnished with period furniture including many pieces made in Woodbury during the 18th century. Under the direction of Henry Watson Kent, a pioneer of early American decorative arts and founder of the American Wing at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the house was restored and opened to the public in 1925 as one of the first historic house museums in the country. Today we continue the commitment to maintain and preserve this unique historical and cultural landmark by preserving its heritage and providing programs and opportunities for education and research. The Museum explores the way of life of an 18th century middle class family at the dawn of our new republic. The Museum is open for regular tours Friday through Sunday from May through October 9th and for special activities throughout the year. The garden is open during daylight hours, 7 days per week.